Records broken at SPR Parts Otaria Road Gravel Sprint.

Round 3 of the Dannevirke Car Club Gravel Sprint Series was held on 19th March. The SPR Parts sponsored event was held at Otaria Road just out of Dannevirke.

There was a great turn out with 19 entries. These included current series competitors and a few new cars and drivers.

This event was run using a slightly different format to previous club days. Everyone had three qualifying runs. The competitors were then placed into groups of four based on their times. The slowest four ran first. The fastest of this group was then transferred up to the next group of competitors. This meant that each competitor had the opportunity to progress through the field if they kept getting the fastest time of their group.

The day started with Donald Mclean setting an early pace with Robin Feck not far behind. As the road began to dry out the times got faster with Bradley Stewart and Levin's Rex Visible both pushing hard. Series leader Daniel Feck was keeping them honest in his two wheel drive FTO.

Battles for other class honours were just as intense with Blake Jones (Toyota Starlet) and Rhys Knauf (Toyota Corolla) battling for class A honours.

Class B saw the return of Local Peter Weir who was sharing Robin Feck's Hilman Imp powered by a Kawasaki motorcycle engine. These two were posting quick times with Wanganui's Tony Willemson keeping the pressure on them all day.

First timers Grant McGregor from Palmerston North and Pat Dillon from Wanganui spent all day swapping times in class C in their beautifully prepared and sounding Escorts.

The elimination runs provided some extra pressure and brought out some fantastic driving by everyone. Stand out drives were seen from Palmerston North's Ian Barr, Wanganui's Pat Dillon and Bryce Hackett as well as local Peter Weir. These drivers were all rewarded by moving up to the next fastest group during the elimination runs. No one could match the speed of the top three.

Levin's Rex Visible posted up the 3rd fastest time with Daniel Feck posting up the 2nd fastest time but the club record and youngest ever overall winner of Otaria Road goes to Bradley Stewart who kept his cool and set a blistering time.

Class honours went to Class A winner Rhys Knauf, Class B winner Robin Feck, Class C winner Daniel Feck, Class D winner Donald McLean and Class E winner Bradley Stewart.

It was great to see a line up of rear wheel drive cars at the event. There were three Toyota Starlets, Two Escorts, Two Corollas, a Rover V8 and the ever impressive Hilman Imp.

The next round of the Dannevirke Car Club Gravel Sprint Series is the MJ Custom Engineering Tararua Road held on the 16th of April. Dannevirke Car Club would like to welcome anyone interested in spectating, a hot seat ride, volunteering or just coming along.

These events wouldn't be possible without a strong group of people willing to give up their day to volunteer and Dannevirke Car Club would like to thank the landowners, the Tararua District Council, SPR Parts and everyone else that made the day a success.

To keep up to date with the Dannevirke Car Club find us atwww.dannevirkecarclub.co.nz

For more photos from this event and other local motorsport events google "jfropics".

Winner Bradley Stewart



Kobyn Mackay in his rotary Datsun



Daniel Feck finishing 2^{nd} overall and 1^{st} 2WD



Grant McGregor in his first event for many years

