

Dannevirke Car Club's 2016 Gravel Sprint Series has kicked off with a bang. The first round of the five round series took place as the Goon Memorial, McLean Groundspread, Millstream Road Gravel Sprint on the 16th of January.

With 25 entries coming from as far away as Taranaki, Wellington & Tauranga it meant the local drivers had some good competition.

The day kicked off with the normal checking of cars and paper work, all the marshal's and volunteer's briefed then it was time for a "follow the leader" look run.

After this the first official run's commenced, the loose surface on top didn't take long to make way for the smooth grip underneath and the driver's started putting some good times up. Donald Mclean and Daniel Feck were the quickest of the local's in the morning battling with Hawkes Bay's Gareth McLaughlan, Wellington's Adam Bligh and New Zealand Rally Championship driver David Holder.

Later in the day Robin Feck moved up into the top 5 overtaking son Daniel. Battles further down the field were equally competitive with fellow local's Bradley Stewart and Rod Bracegirdle both swapping times, also Wanganui's Bryce Hackett and Taranaki's Ben Brown doing the same. Other notable drives came from local rookie Cam Mclean in only his third road event and Kobyn Mckay in his impressive rotary Datsun.

The day ended with prize giving where Gareth McLaughlan took out the overall win and 1st in Class E, David Holder 2nd overall and 1st in Class D, Adam Bligh 3rd overall, Daniel Feck 1st Class C and Robin Feck 1st Class B.

The Rookie title went to Cam Mclean with the Fastest Female being Tracey Gore. The most important trophy for this event, the Goon Memorial Trophy went to Local Ian Stewart. The next round of the 2016 Gravel Sprint Series is Dannevirke Dairy Supplies Pahaheke Road Gravel Sprint taking place on the 13th February. Dannevirke Car Club would like to welcome anyone interested in spectating, volunteering or just getting involved to come along.

These event's wouldn't be possible without strong group of people willing to give up there day to volunteer and Dannevirke Car Club would like to thank Michael McLean for organising this event, Tena McLean and her team for catering, The Landowners, Mayhem Motorsport Management, Tararua District Council, McLean Groundspead and everyone else that made the day a success.

To keep up to date with what the Dannevirke Car Club is doing please find us at <u>www.dannevirkecarclub.co.nz</u> or on Facebook.





Gareth McLaughlan on his way to 1st Overall. Photo courtesy of Jeff Wells



Cam McLean Rookie title winner. Photo courtesy of Jeff Wells



Daniel Feck winner of Class C. Photo courtesy of Jeff Wells



Ben Brown 13th Overall. Photo courtesy of Jeff Wells